The Listening Room (April 2019)


Photo by Image by Robert Katzki  (source:

Welcome to the listening room.  Make yourself comfortable and check out some of the latest sounds that have caught our ears as well as previews of upcoming releases.  We begin with the quarterly Soundcloud “field journal” playlist for the spring season as well as new music by THESIS (ft. Taylor Deupree, M. Grig, & Porya Hatami), Rafael Anton Irisarri, Benoit Pioulard & Sean Curtis Patrick, Antarctic Wastelands (Ben Tatlow)Michael Price, Maiya Hershey & Steve Jansen, Sven Laux & Daniela Orvin, Richard Luke ft. Amina Bedrush-McDonald, and Laura Masotto

Spring 2019 Soundcloud Field Journal Playlist

Every few months, I start a new “field journal” with selections from my recent Soundcloud listening  The playlist for the spring season is officially underway with lots of great music to discover and more yet to come. (Note: for Soundcloud Go subscribers, the playlist can be downloaded for offline listening).

“RECURRING 002” by Taylor Deupree


The amazing THESIS project added an entirely new dimension this month with the rollout of RECURRING which features loops developed by some of the finest musicians and sound artists around.  The first collection includes work by Rafael Anton Irisarri, Taylor Deupree (featured here), Benjamin Finger, Pepo Galán, and Alex Bober.

“RECURRING 009” by M. Grig


The second edition of RECURRING is also now complete and includes contributions by Christopher Bissonnette, Jacob Pavek, Endless Melancholy, M. Grig (featured here), and William Ryan Fritch. 

“RECURRING 011” by Porya Hatami


Finally, the third entry in the series is currently underway with tracks so far by Porya Hatami (featured here) and index. Note that while the edition is in the process of being compiled, it is generously offered on a name-your-price basis, a nice reward for early birds. But don’t let being late to the party discourage you.  The fixed price is still very modest for these one-of-a-kind not-to-be-missed digital collections.

“Coastal Trapped Disturbance” by Rafael Anton Irisarri

From ‘Solastalgia’ due June 21, 2019 on Room40

Irisarri remains a master of compostional soundscapes that resonate with deeply felt existential themes. The first track from his forthcoming new record which contemplates the dystopian ramifications of climate and environmental change is an absolute stunner that leaves us in eager anticipation of the complete work. It’s going to be a long wait until June…

“Stonefax” by Benoît Pioulard and Sean Curtis Patrick

From ‘Avocationals’ released March 15, 2019 on Beacon Sound

The first of several unexpected but well receive collaborations to be featured in this edition, Avocationals is a collection of pieces by Benoît Pioulard and Sean Curtis Patrick “in honor of the many shipwrecks of the Great Lakes throughout the 20th century, and the souls they claimed” which the duo wrote and recorded in Ann Arbor, MI last year. Aptly described as “wintry, yet humming throughout with a narcotic warmth”.

Into Silence by Antarctic Wastelands

From ‘Islands’ released April 12, 2019 by Echoes.Blue

This track introduces an immersive and well-crafted new EP from Antarctic Wastelands, a solo ambient project of Ben Tatlow also of Salt of the Sound and Narrow Skies all of which I am looking forward to digging further into soon.

“Focus in 12-18Hz” by Michael Price

From ‘Music for Brainwaves’ released April 4, 2019 on Erased Tapes

Somewhat of a surprise release but a most welcome one from the folks at Erased Tapes. Part of a joint initiative with international hotelier citizenM, Music for Brainwaves is the first installment in a series intended to “create a unique sonic experience for travelers that will maximize concentration, minimize anxiety and help with sleep.” This one includes  exclusive music by Michael Price (featured here), Högni and Ben Lukas Boysen who were commissioned to produce scientifically informed pieces of music utilizing relevant tones, frequencies and rhythms to affect the brain in a beneficial way.

“Blue Nest” by Maiya Hershey and Steve Jansen

From ‘Neither Present Nor Absent’ released April 5, 2019

The collaboration theme continues with this highly absorbing work that collapses the distance between Lebanon and London through the fusing of the delicate piano loops, field recordings, and processed sounds of Maiya Hershey with the work of avant composer and multi-instrumentalist Steve Jansen.

“A Moment of Silence” by Sven Laux and Daniela Orvin

From ‘The Writings’ released April 12, 2019 on Dronarivm

Another fine collaborative effort here that brings together the strings and lush ambient atmospherics of Sven Laux tempered by the sparse piano melodies of Daniela Orvin. Beautifully imagined and textured and handsomely presented (as always) by Dronarivm.

“Breathe” by Richard Luke ft. Amira Bedrush-McDonald

From ‘Glass Island’ released April 12, 2019 on Moderna Records

The lovely final coda from ‘Glass Island’ by Richard Luke which finds the Glasgow-based composer and producer once again collaborating with violinist Amira Bedrush-McDonald as they did on last year’s Voz (1631 Recordings).

“Lucciola” by Laura Masotto

From ‘Firefiles’ released April 3, 2019 on Lady Blunt Records

A preview of a stunning new album of solo violin work by Laura Masotto inspired by Arabic tunings and arranged with looped accompaniment to the main melodies to create a rich and mesmerizing sound. A wonderful recording especially well suited to the spring season. Now available on digital and CD from Verona, Italy based Lady Blunt Records.